Pick Yourself Up By Your Bootstraps

So I’m going to go on a mini rant about an opinion of mine that I’m sure is fairly unpopular, especially among religious/Christian people.

IMG_0590

So now that the weather’s warm and the sun is our more, I’ve been seeing a lot more of this. Sometimes I’ll even see it 3 or 4 times in a single trip! Now before you get all mad at me, I am not in any way judging these people for the situation that they are in. I don’t know their story about how they got there or anything like that. If I see people that are in need, I help them. But you also have to do a certain amount of helping yourself too. The way I look at it is this: if you have the ability to get yourself to that corner and stand there for multiple hours, and then continue to come back and do it again for multiple days, then you can get yourself to a job. Most of the time these people are standing on corners at the end of strip malls or on sidewalks in big shopping centers, so why don’t they spend their time walking to each and every store in the area and filling out applications? Yes, everyone is saying how horrible the economy is and how hard it is to find jobs. It’s hard to find good jobs for those people who have been laid off from higher management jobs and things like that. It isn’t hard to find a minimum wage job working retail or food service. I’m sure the most common complaint from people who are looking for a job is that they don’t want to work at McDonalds or another fast food place because it would be embarrassing if people that they knew came in while they were working. Which is more embarrassing and demoralizing, standing on a street corner begging for money or actively doing something about your situation and working a food service job so that you can start building your life back up?

I am always willing to help people that are in need, but I will not help people that won’t help themselves. One of my husband’s cousins is currently living with us because he moved to Lexington and had been couch surfing because he couldn’t afford an apartment on what he makes as a server. I help friends with food, I help family members with rides and gas money and buying presents for others that they can’t afford. I believe in serving others. But God expects us to do our part too, and so do I.

I may not be the most motivated person in the world, I may hate having to go to work every day when I would much rather spend my time hanging out with my dogs and sleeping, but I have never just sat around and expected others to provide everything for me (being a kid doesn’t count). Pull yourself up by your bootstraps and get yourself together. Go get a job and get some food stamps. Set yourself a goal and work until you achieve it.Do something that you’ll be proud of, don’t just stand around on a street corner and beg for other people’s money that they have worked for. Go work for your own.

Leave a comment